McAlpine Named ACAC 2017-18 Women’s Hockey Coach of the Year

McAlpine Named ACAC 2017-18 Women’s Hockey Coach of the Year

EDMONTON, AB (March 1, 2018) – The Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference (ACAC) is proud to announce Lindsay McAlpine of the MacEwan University Griffins has been named the ACAC Women's Hockey Coach of the Year.

It's the second-straight season and third time overall that McAlpine has received the award, also earning it in 2016-17 – the Griffins' first ACAC Championship season since 2008 – and in 2014 when she led her squad to the final.

Since taking over as MacEwan's women's hockey head coach in 2012, McAlpine has amassed a 73-50-7-2 regular season record and a 9-9 playoff record (prior to the 2018 ACAC final).

"Lindsay's consistency of excellence and commitment to a high-performance standard sets her apart," said MacEwan University Director of Athletics Kenneth Schildroth. "She has a thorough understanding of the university's values of athletics, academics and community service, and this award is a testament to her leadership in ensuring her team's commitment to those pillars."


McAlpine received the award on March 1, 2018 prior to Game 1 of the ACAC Championship final between MacEwan and Red Deer College.

– 30 – 

About the ACAC: The ACAC is the governing body for intercollegiate athletics in Alberta. Its mission is to foster the development of the student athlete through the administration and promotion of intercollegiate athletics as part of the educational experience and provide a leadership role in the development of sport in Alberta.

For more information on the ACAC, please visit our website:

For additional information, contact:


Mark Kosak, ACAC
Chief Executive Officer

Kenneth Schildroth, MacEwan                               
Director of Athletics                                                   

Twitter: @acac_sport / #ACACWHOC2018                                 
Facebook:  AlbertaCollegesAthleticConference