Griffins Defeat Ooks On Seniors Night

Griffins Defeat Ooks On Seniors Night

EDMONTON, ALTA. - The NAIT Ooks fell to the MacEwan Griffins 5-2 on seniors night in ACAC men's hockey action on Saturday night. 

Following a double overtime thriller on Friday night, the rematch on Saturday was quite different. The MacEwan Griffins came out ready to play. They needed a win tonight to clinch second place in the ACAC and earn a first-round bye, and they played like it. 

The Ooks came out of the gates flat and MacEwan took advantage outshooting them 14-7 in the first period. Brendan Jensen stood tall though turning away all 14 shots to keep the game 0-0. 

In the second period, the Ooks would continue to get outplayed by the Griffins, giving up two goals in the period. In the frame, the Griffins added a third goal to open the period. NAIT's Matt Dykstra would eventually get his squad on the board at the 7:19 mark, but MacEwan would respond with two of their own goals. Dylan Stewart added one more goal for the Ooks but that would be it as they fell 5-2. 

One bright spot for the night was when Tanner Dunkle was honoured at the beginning of the game as a part of seniors night. Tanner played five seasons for the Ooks and finishes his career as the all-time leader in games played. 

Matt Dykstra and Brett Njaa were named players of the game. 

The NAIT Ooks finish the regular season in first, while the MacEwan Griffins finish second, which means both teams earn a bye through the first round of the ACAC playoffs.