SAIT Trojans' clinch 2019 ACAC Men's Basketball Championship

March 2, 2019


The SAIT Trojans' are the last team standing in this year's thrilling Championship Tournament. 


Their opponent the Concordia Thunder (CUE) wasn't an easy out. They opened up the scoring and applied amazing defensive pressure in the first lead by the heart and hustle of #7 Keaton Souster who drew multiple charges in the first quarter and helped give his team a 2 point lead heading into the second. This was also the product of scoring from Concordia's leading scorer #9 Ryan Mclaren and his running mate #15 Ronald Bacon Jr.

The second quarter would fair worse for the Thunder as the Trojans would strike back with 8 points from guard #6 Ian Tevis including a massive dunk that brought the game back to two points. His efforts were matched by teammates who played tough defense that forced turnovers from Concordia; turnovers that lead to points for SAIT. The Trojans lead at the half 44-42.

The second half would prove frustrating for the Concordia Thunder. Sait head coach Marty Birky adjusted his defense and double teamed Concordia star #15 Ronald Bacon Jr. and lead heavily on their best 1-on-1 defender #1 Charlie Conner to put a padlock on Thunder leading scorer #9 Ryan McLaren. All the while the crowd was full with supporters from both sides cheering and jeering each other on.

The fourth quarter opened with #7 Keaton Souster planting his feet to take his fourth charge of the game, continuing his amazing defense. However, turnovers from Concordia at the 5:00 mark gives SAIT a ten point lead 82-72. Concordia rallied but the reign of terror from deep that is SAIT's #11 John Smith continued as he forced a timeout from the Thunder as he hit a big contested tree to increase the lead to 90-77.


#6 Ian Tevis would score 31 and the Trojans would hang on to win the game 95-84 and be crowned the 2019 ACAC Men's Basketball Champions.


Players of the Game:

Concordia Thunder - #7 Keaton Souster

SAIT Trojans - #6 Ian Tevis 


Tournament All-Stars:

Second Team All-Star recipients:

Red Deer Kings - #21 Spencer Klassen

Lakeland Rustlers - #2 Artavis Holiday 

Medicine Hat Rattlers - #5 Arthur Rosa

Medicine Hat Rattlers - #8 Jaamel Slack

Augustana Vikings - #9 Micael Stasuik


First Team All-Star recipients:

Concordia Thunder - #9 Ryan McLaren

Concordia Thunder - #15 Ronald Bacon Jr.

SAIT Trojans - #30 Nicholas Molina

SAIT Trojans - #11 John Smith

Augustana Vikings - #8 Mason Hunter


Tournament MVP:

SAIT Tojans - #6 Ian Tevis