by ACAC Sports Writer Curtis J. Phillips

The definition of what determines a sports dynasty is subjective.

Here at the Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference we will make it simple.

In the ACAC, we raise the bar.

None of this Edmonton Oilers five championships in seven years stuff.

Sure Gretzky and company said hello to Lord Stanley in 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988 and 1990.

But they lost...lost....in 1986 and 1989.

In the ACAC a dynasty is a school that has won seven-or-more championships in a row.

Mount Royal College Cougars, members of the ACAC from 1964 to 2012 – lead the pack with it comes to the word dynasty.

The Cougars men's soccer team kicked their way to eight consecutive banners from 1990-1998.

They set several ACAC standards during that time with most goals scored in a season with 63 and least goals allowed with 2 in 1998.

Cougars' Rob Laurie would lead the circuit in scoring twice (1994-1996) with Rick Foydl (1990-1991) and Youssef Tarraf (1992-1993) bagging scoring titles once.

Advancing to the national stage, Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association gold would come their way in 1994 and 1997.

Grant MacEwan Griffins would break the Griffins ACAC stranglehold with a 3-2 penalty kick victory in 1999.

Cougars next dynasty was a major splash as they won the men's, women's and team overall titles in swimming nine consecutive times from 1995-2004.

Starting in 1989, ACAC swimming was discontinued at the end of the 2006-2007 season.

The Cougars last stab at ACAC archives dynasty was in men's singles badminton with seven straight from 1998-2004 with Stephen Smith (1998-2001) and Kyle Foley (2001-2004) each smashing their way to three titles.

Smith would also win three CCAA gold men's singles while Foley managed two first place finishes.

Willy Kimosop, Lethbridge College Cross-Country Runner

Led by CCAA All Canadians Curtis French, Trevor Hamilton and Ted Leslie, the SAIT Trojans were the Kings of the Hardwood from 1980-1987 with seven consecutive ACAC men's basketball titles.

On the national stage, hoops gold would be netted in 1982 and 1986 with wins over Dawson College Blues and Sheridan College Bruins respectively. Silver status would come back-to-back in 1984 and 1985.

Recently retired Lethbridge Kodiaks cross country coach Bertil Johansson guided cross country runners to seven consecutive men's individual titles fromgiyds; 2005-2012.

At the CCAA level Willy Kimosop was the main man with three consecutive golden moments (2008-2010)

When it comes to ACAC volleyball, one school shines bright...the Red Deer Kings/Queens.

Gavin Schmitt, Red Deer College

From 1981-1989 the women's Queens won ACAC bragging rights eight consecutive times.

CCAA gold was found in 1984.

A few years later it was the men's turn to have a eight year run for ACAC championships from 1999-2007.

It is what they did at the next step that may have put them at the No. 1 ACAC dynasty of all time due to the fact at the CCAA championships they won it all eight consecutive times!

Kings players that earned CCAA Tournament MVP status during the run were: Gavin Schmitt 2007, Joey Martins 2005, Dallas Soonias 2004, Brock Davidiuk 2003, Nicholas Cundy 2002, Brad Bell 2001 and Ryan Taylor in 2000.

University of Alberta Augustana Vikings is the kings of ACAC dynasties, albeit for discontinued sport though.

Starting in 1977 their women's cross country team won....count them...20 consecutive banners while in the relay event it was 26 years in a row. The men's cross country side won 11 banners in a row.

From snow to water the Vikings also dominated canoeing with 16 women's banners while women's and mixed relays won nine times and men's relay seven times. ACAC Canoeing started in 1966-1967 and went dryland in 1998 with various portages during the early 1990s'.

NAIT Ooks are on a current seven-year stretch in men's badminton doubles (a hiatus of the sport in ACAC ranks from 2012-2014). Last year Nicholas Roque and Imran Wadia were title holders.

Currently on the cusp of possible dynasty status are the Medicine Hat Rattlers with five consecutive women's futsal crowns.