Lindsay McAlpine Named ACAC Women’s Hockey Coach of the Year

Lindsay McAlpine Named ACAC Women’s Hockey Coach of the Year

EDMONTON, AB (March 4, 2017) – The Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference (ACAC) is proud to announce that Lindsay McAlpine of the MacEwan University Griffins has been named the ACAC Women's Hockey Coach of the Year.

McAlpine led the Griffins to a 16-8-0 regular season record – second in the ACAC – before guiding her young team to the conference finals with a first-round semifinal win over Red Deer.

A former CIS player of the year when she was with the University of Alberta Pandas, McAlpine has amassed a 55-47-4-2 regular season record since taking over as MacEwan's head coach in 2012. She has now been named ACAC coach of the year twice in the past four seasons, also winning in 2014 when she led the Griffins to the final.

"Lindsay's dedication to her craft and to our student athletes is second to none," said MacEwan University Director of Athletics Kenneth Schildroth. "The Griffins' track record on the ice this season is a testament to her leadership, mentorship and player development model.

"We'd like to congratulate her and the Griffins for a terrific season, their first in MacEwan University's new home at Edmonton's Downtown Community Arena."

McAlpine received the award prior to Game 1 of the 2017 ACAC Women's Hockey Championship on Saturday, March 4 in Edmonton.

– 30 –

About the ACAC: The ACAC is the governing body for intercollegiate athletics in Alberta. Its mission is to provide competitive collegiate sport experiences, promote academic achievement and be a leader of sport development in Canada.

For more information on the ACAC, please visit our website:

For additional information, contact:
Kenneth Schildroth
MacEwan University Director of Athletics

Mark Kosak, ACAC  
Chief Executive Officer 

Twitter: @acac_sport / #ACACWHOC2017                                      
Facebook:  AlbertaCollegesAthleticConference